MENU
NON-RESIDENT FILING

Tax filing in general has a very strict set of rules. However, those rules could be more complicated for foreign nationals.

Foreign nationals (just like US Nationals) will need a social security number in order to file tax. If a social security number cannot be obtained, form w7 will need to be submitted in order to apply for an ITIN. An ITIN is an Individual Tax Identification Number and it is only used to file income tax returns, it is not a substitute to a social security number and may not be used for employment purposes. Tax filing deadline for foreign nationals with US sourced income is April 15th of the following year (if the 15th falls on a non-business day, the filing deadline will be extended to following business day). If form 4868 (Request for Extension of Time to File) was filed, then the deadline will be extended for 6 months. However, this is only an extension of time to file, not an extension of payment and any tax liability owed will have to be paid together with form 4868. If you are an exempt individual and do not have to file a tax return, you will still need to file form 8843 Statement for Exempt Individuals and Individuals with a Medical Condition.

Before starting your tax return, you will need to determine whether to file a Resident return (1040EZ, 1040A, or 1040) or a Non-Resident Return (1040NR-EZ or 1040NR). This will be determined by two factors, your visa status and the amount of time you have been in the country. Not to be confused with immigration status, your tax status will only be used to determine the way in which you will be taxed.

To be eligible to file a Resident return, you will need to pass either the green card test or the physical presence test. Any foreign national holding a green card files a resident return regardless of the amount of time they have been in the country.

The substantial presence test is a bit more complicated and the time from which you begin to count your days will depend on your visa status. In general, the substantial presence test is determined as follows: For tax purposes, you will be considered a US resident if you have been physically present in the United States for at least 31 days during the current year AND for 183 days during the 3-year period (including the current year and the 2 years before that). You will need to count all the days you were present in the US, 1/3 of the days you were present the year immediately before, and 1/6 of the days you were present 2 years before the current.

As mentioned before, your visa status will in part determine how you will file your return. Individuals on F Visa are considered exempt1 for 5 calendar years. Years exempt do not reset and do not need to be consecutive. After the 5 calendar years, F Visa holders will begin to count presence days to determine if they will continue to file as resident or non resident. J & Q Visa holders are exempt for 2 calendar years and after 2 years will begin to count presence days to determine if they will continue to file as resident or non resident. G Visa holders are exempt from tax on all income from International Organizations, however, they are subject to tax on any US Capital gains if the physical presence test is met. There are other visa types in which an exemption period applies, however, discussing every single one will require an extensive essay and is best discussed with a tax professional in person.

菜单
NON-RESIDENT FILING

美国报税系统有一套非常严格的规则,对于非绿卡持有人这套系统变得更加复杂。

1: 在美外籍人员和美籍及绿卡持有者一样都需要社会安全号(SSN)进行报税。如果缺失社会安全号,则需要通过提交W7表格先行申请ITIN号,ITIN号是个人报税号,这个报税号仅仅只能用于个人收入报税,不能用于替代社会安全号和用于雇佣关系。对于在美外籍人员,报税截止日期是所在年的4月15号,如果当年4月15号不是工作日,则延期至下一个工作日。如果递交了4868表格(用于延期报税日期),可以延期6个月进行报税。然而,这仅仅是延期报税时间,并不能延任何税税务负债的付款,所有付款需要与4868表格一起进行递交。如果您符合税务豁免或者有特殊健康原因不用报税,您仍然需要递交8843表格。

2: 在您开始报税之前,您需要确认您需要报居民报税 (1040EZ,1040A,or 1040) 或者非居民报税 (1040NR-EZ or 1040NR)。这个条件是由您的签证种类和您在美国居留时间决定的。这个条件仅仅是用来确认您的税务条件,与您的移民身份没有直接联系 。符合居民报税条件包括您需要提供绿卡测试和人身存在测试。任何绿卡持有者都需要按居民条件报税无论您在美国停留的时间。

3:实际居住测试略微复杂一些,上庭时间也需要视您的签证种类而定。一般情况下实际居住测试是通过以下的条件决定的:以报税为目的,如果您在美国本年度内的停留时间超过31天并且3年内(包括今天和之前2年)的停留时间超过183天,您会被当做居民报税。您需要对您在美国的停留时间进行计数以当日起算,有1/3的时间是在1年之内停留,有2/3的时间是在一年前的两年之内停留。

4:像之前提到的,您的签证种类也一定程度决定您的报税类型。F 类型签证持有人拥有5年豁免权,这5年不会重置并且不需要是连续时间。5年之后,F类型的签证持有者需要对在美停留时间进行计数来决定是否以居民身份进行报税。G和Q类型的签证持有者有两年的豁免年,然后进行居留时间计数来决定是否以居民身份报税。G类型的签证持有者对于所有国际公司的收入拥有报税豁免, 然而如果符合实际居住测试的条件,则对美的财务收入仍需进行征税。L 和H签证持有者不符合豁免条件,因此一旦换成非豁免条件的身份则立即需要进行居留时间计数。举例说明,如果您以F签证来美,并持续2年时间,2年后转换为H签证,则需从H签证日期开始开始居留时间计数。

5: 用非居民的身份进行报税只需支付在美收入税,还将享有您的所有国和美国之间的税务减免条例。然而,如果用非居民身份报税,非居民不可以联合保税也不可以声明被赡养者,税务减免方面就会减少(除去墨西哥,加拿大和南韩)。然而,作为如果您符合以居民身份报税,您将享有所有美国公民的税收减免,然而,也会像美国公民一样,您需支付所有社会安全税和健康保险税。您也需要申报您在其他国家的收入并进行纳税。根据您的签证类型和收入情况,根据部分国家与美国签有特殊税务福利条例还有其他一些特别情况,并且有情况您可以选择您的报税身份。根据您的个人情况,为了更好地保障您的利益,请与我们的税务专家预约咨询,我们会为您的情况量身定做您的报税。